Review: Refining Felicity

Refining Felicity by M.C. BeatonRefining Felicity: A Novel of Regency England - Being the First Volume of The School for Manners: 1 (The School of Manners)

Published: March 31, 2011 by Rosetta Books

Series: The School for Manners # 1

Rating: 2 out of 5 Stars

Goodreads Summary:

The Misses Tribble, Amy and Effie, spinsters of a certain age, have lived for years on expectations of a great inheritance. When this fails to materialize, they are truly destitute. Desperate, they advertise that they will refine wild and unruly daughters, present them, and see them safely wed. This first volume concerns Lady Felicity Vane and the Marquess of Ravenswood in a love-hate courtship. The Tribbles are charmers and much more fun than their charges.

My Review:

Refining Felicity, took me awhile to get through.  I’m not sure if it had something to do with my school schedule, work, and the amount of reading about taxes I’ve had to do, or if it had something to do with the fact that I could not get immersed in the story.

The story is about a young girl whose parents can’t keep her under control.  Her father is perfectly okay with her behavior, but her mother is appalled by it.  She wants the girl, Felicity, to become a young lady and to marry well.  They are after all one of the wealthiest families in the country.  It intertwines with the story of the Tribble sisters who are down on their luck and have sold all the worldly possessions in order to be able to survive.  The sisters are trying to figure out what they can do when they determine that they can school young girls in the decorum necessary to land a husband even though they are not married.

Thus begins the twists and turns of the turning a spoiled brat into a young lady.  I didn’t really like Felicity in the beginning.  I thought she was mean spirited and rude to the people trying to help her.  I enjoyed the ramblings of Amy Tribble very much but never grew to like her sister Effy.  The Marquess grew on me but he was still not my favorite character.  I only grew to like Felicity when she became somewhat vulnerable.

I thought the ending was rushed and I thought all the action took place in one or two chapters.  This is part of a series and I’m not sure if I will read the rest of it right away.  I might give it a chance when things have calmed down and I can sit and read the whole book in a day or two rather than over the course of a few weeks.  It might stick better that way.

Until next time,

2 thoughts on “Review: Refining Felicity”

    1. I don’t know if it was so much disappointing or if I just had a hard time getting into the story. I might, at some point, try to read the next one in the series to see if it was just me because the writing was definitely very good. I think it might have just been one of those “not what I was looking for” at the time but I am the type of person who has a hard time not finishing a book. When I start one, I usually like to finish it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

