One Tiny review for a bunch of books…

In the last 2 weeks, I’ve finished all of the following:

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)D is for Deadbeat (Kinsey Millhone, #4)Wicked (Pretty Little Liars, #5)Killer (Pretty Little Liars, #6)Heartless (Pretty Little Liars, #7)

The Hunger Games was a re-read after watching the first part of Mockingjay in the theaters and the others are series that I am continuing.  They were are all very good and very fast reads.  I’ve been very busy, so I haven’t been able to make time for reviews or meme’s and with the holidays coming up, I doubt there will be time more them either.

The one thing I didn’t like about the four in the series is that I feel like I am hearing the same thing over and over again about the characters and then the ending is rushed.  Why can’t they just start with one chapter to wrap up the characters and then get to the action?!?

I don’t know if I’m cut out for this blogging thing right now.  I can’t seem to keep up with what feels like a demanding schedule.  I feel like the people who read are always wondering where I am when in reality they probably read as many blogs as I do and will not miss me much.  I have to remember that I am writing for me and if I miss a few weeks that’s okay.

Anyway, this is what I have been reading and I hope to read more over the holidays.

Till next time,



Review: Refining Felicity

Refining Felicity by M.C. BeatonRefining Felicity: A Novel of Regency England - Being the First Volume of The School for Manners: 1 (The School of Manners)

Published: March 31, 2011 by Rosetta Books

Series: The School for Manners # 1

Rating: 2 out of 5 Stars

Goodreads Summary:

The Misses Tribble, Amy and Effie, spinsters of a certain age, have lived for years on expectations of a great inheritance. When this fails to materialize, they are truly destitute. Desperate, they advertise that they will refine wild and unruly daughters, present them, and see them safely wed. This first volume concerns Lady Felicity Vane and the Marquess of Ravenswood in a love-hate courtship. The Tribbles are charmers and much more fun than their charges.

My Review:

Refining Felicity, took me awhile to get through.  I’m not sure if it had something to do with my school schedule, work, and the amount of reading about taxes I’ve had to do, or if it had something to do with the fact that I could not get immersed in the story.

The story is about a young girl whose parents can’t keep her under control.  Her father is perfectly okay with her behavior, but her mother is appalled by it.  She wants the girl, Felicity, to become a young lady and to marry well.  They are after all one of the wealthiest families in the country.  It intertwines with the story of the Tribble sisters who are down on their luck and have sold all the worldly possessions in order to be able to survive.  The sisters are trying to figure out what they can do when they determine that they can school young girls in the decorum necessary to land a husband even though they are not married.

Thus begins the twists and turns of the turning a spoiled brat into a young lady.  I didn’t really like Felicity in the beginning.  I thought she was mean spirited and rude to the people trying to help her.  I enjoyed the ramblings of Amy Tribble very much but never grew to like her sister Effy.  The Marquess grew on me but he was still not my favorite character.  I only grew to like Felicity when she became somewhat vulnerable.

I thought the ending was rushed and I thought all the action took place in one or two chapters.  This is part of a series and I’m not sure if I will read the rest of it right away.  I might give it a chance when things have calmed down and I can sit and read the whole book in a day or two rather than over the course of a few weeks.  It might stick better that way.

Until next time,

Review: C is for Corpse by Sue Grafton



How do you go about solving an attempted murder when the victim has lost a good part of his memory? It’s one of Kinsey’s toughest cases yet, but she never backs down from a challenge. Twenty-three-year-old Bobby Callahan is lucky to be alive after a car forced his Porsche over a bridge and into a canyon. The crash left Bobby with a clouded memory. But he can’t shake the feeling it was no random accident and that he’s still in danger…

The only clues Kinsey has to go on are a little red address book and the name “Blackman.” Bobby can’t remember who he gave the address book to for safekeeping. And any chances of Bobby regaining his memory are dashed when he’s killed in another automobile accident just three days after he hires Kinsey. 

As Kinsey digs deeper into her investigation, she discovers Bobby had a secret worth killing for–and unearthing that secret could send Kinsey to her own early death…


So, I’m still learning how WordPress works and I haven’t had much time to learn so I will probably make this review short and sweet.  I’ve always enjoyed reading mysteries and have only recently started reading the Kinsey mysteries by Sue Grafton.  They were recommended to me by my father and so far there hasn’t been any disappointment.

I like how I never seem to know “who done it” and once the action picks up I can’t wait to find out who was behind the caper.  I do have to say of the three of the mysteries that I have read,the beginnings always seem to be a bit slow and repetitive.  I’m guessing that is so you could read them as standalone novels if you choose to do so.

Overall, I liked the novel and plan to continue the series.

3 out of 5 stars